Home > Bibliography > Bibliography (English) > VH 101 > No. 4. 1971 > Steve Reich

Reich, Steve, Esselier, Françoise

Steve Reich


VH 101: No. 4. Paris: Esselier: 84-93.

Steve Reich explains how the designation ’electronic music’ is not important for him. He worked with a phase-shifting, organ, tape and amplified instruments to have continuity in sound but not to compose electronic music. The composer presents some works to exemplify this idea: Four Organs, It’s Gonna rain, Slow Motion Sound, Violin Phase, Four Log Drums, Pendulum Music. He also speaks about various other subjects: serial music, melody, rhythm, and the possibilities of new ideas in contemporary music.

Tuesday 29 August 2006, by Pierre Couprie

All the versions of this article: [English] [français]